Schönberg’s orchestration of Brahms’ “Piano Quartet in g” is so convincing, for me it equals the original version.  I love the whole piece; but, for the the first two movement are preludes to the “march” in the Andante con Moto; only to be followed by that rip-roarin’ Rondo.  It a testament to Schönberg’s insight that he should pick this one chamber work of Brahms and see how it almost cries out to be orchestrated.  And such a brilliant orchestration it is.  It’s virtually Brahms’ 5th symphony.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s